What Happened?

In my old blog, I never wrote about why I broke up with HWINL. He was an avid reader, so I couldn’t or wouldn’t. Five years is a long time to live with a man. I knew after three that I needed to end it, tried half-heartedly in Year 4 and finally did it in Year 5.

Here’s a list in no particular order:

  • Our politics were polar opposites. He was becoming radicalized and probably is at this point. All he cared about was not having his guns taken away.
  • He couldn’t make money and if he had any, he couldn’t handle it. I paid for everything. Housing, utilities, phones, internet – I paid. He bought groceries. If he did give me money, he usually needed it back within a week. I bought him 2 phones, a laptop, clothes, started his business. Thousands and thousands of dollars….
  • He smoked pot every day. Every day, all day. I don’t mind a toke. I like pot, but when your day begins and ends with a joint, you have a problem.
  • The fucking dog. He got a puppy, lied to me about it’s size (45 lbs vs 90) and it drove my elderly pets into early graves. He was so selfish. I love animals. This dog was beautiful, but bred to hunt and it was tough to handle. It destroyed my shoes, a sofa, favorite chair, patio furniture, and more I can’t remember right now.
  • He was selfish and issued ultimatums. If he didn’t want to do it, he wouldn’t. Help clean the house? Nope. He did hire a cleaning lady when he had money. We watched his shows, went where he wanted to eat, did the things he liked to do.
  • If he didn’t want to do something, he had two approaches: flat out refuse or have an anxiety attack that would make us incredibly late. I have no patience for either. Sorry, but I don’t. I don’t ask a lot, but geez.
  • My kids and friends didn’t like him. That’s a big tell. I need to pay attention to that in the future.
  • He burns up relationships over seemingly nothing. I think he suffers from severe anxiety, hence the pot. I think his anxiety would get the best of him and he would refuse to discuss or hash out a disagreement.

However, I did learn quite a bit in this relationship. The man was kind at times. He is very attractive. I found him irresistibly sexy. I wanted someone who was handy, and he was very capable. He took care of me when we camped and hiked.

I discovered I don’t like camping all that much. I like being outdoors, but I like my creature comforts. I like to travel, but I like a nice hotel, not a Motel 6. I don’t like to be poor and have no savings. I felt like he was dragging me down to a socio-economic level that was unacceptable for me.

I discovered that I give up too much, too fast in a relationship because I wanted to be like, loved, desired. I did that in my marriage. I am slowly learning that I have the right to say No. I have the power and right to say No to anyone and especially to family, who are the hardest to do so.

He led me away from Miami and perhaps I never would have left if not for him. I am grateful for that…I think. I did have the perfect rental that I sorely miss.

It will soon be time for me to start dating again. Yes, I will try again. This time I want to date. Really date. Like see somebody a couple of times and turn them lose because I see some red flags and refuse to ignore them. I want to date someone for a month before having sex. I tend to jump into bed immediately. What would happen if I waited?

In the meantime, I need to get in shape. Physically and mentally. Mostly physically. I have weight to lose and muscles to find. LOL. I want to look as sexy as I feel and I feel pretty damn sexy these days.

Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

Published by birdiehope

A smart, funny quasi-introvert who loves a festival.

3 thoughts on “What Happened?

  1. If I may? What I discovered is that you look as sexy as you feel.
    It turned out to be true for me just the other day again. I haven’t written about it. I mean, I don’t go out. I never see anyone. But the ONE TIME I see a man… he ends up in my arse in my entrance hallway ;P
    And no, I didn’t beg at all. And I wasn’t particularly horny, needy or whatever. It just happened.
    So lose the weight, gain the muscle, but do it FOR YOU. Not for men. I’m pretty confident that you will find the man you want/need.
    I also wanted to tell you the other day: it is said women have two lives. One starts at birth, the second starts at 50. So… enjoy ;*

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started