Noom Update #10

I have been on Noom for 113 days, which is roughly 16 weeks (aka 4 months).  I have lost a total of 23.3 pounds which works out to an average of 1.46 pounds per week.  From my last update 10 days ago, I lost 2.3 pounds.  Amazing.  

I did have my elephant stomp around last week.  Noom Nerds know that the elephant is the irrational, impulsive part of your brain.  I was disappointed that someone canceled our plans last minute (second time in a week, but that’s another story).  I came home wanting carbs, comfort food, sugar – anything to mask my disappointment.  It was a dangerous time.

However, thanks to the Noom lessons, I gave myself some grace. I skipped my walk, ate a tamale for my carb fix and had a spoonful of Reese’s Pieces for my sugar fix.  I binged on Sex in the City and went to bed at a reasonable time.  The next morning, I was back on track with my exercise and food.  

Noom talks about how to keep the elephant tamed.  Sometimes you simply need to give it a small reward to calm it down.  That evening did the trick.  Plus I had lots of fun weekend plans with folks, so the disappointment faded quickly.  

The point of this story is that before Noom I would have had an epic binge of food, sugar, alcohol and then been completely derailed.  Now I have the tools to tame my elephant and stay the course.

In other news: I CAN WEAR A BELT. First time I have put a belt on in YEARS. I figured this out when I realized my favorite jeans were too loose and I needed something to keep them in place. Hence, the belt and I bragged all day at work. That, my Dear Readers, was the best news of the week. LOL.

Published by birdiehope

A smart, funny quasi-introvert who loves a festival.

One thought on “Noom Update #10

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started